Salesperson License Requirements
An applicant for a California real estate salesperson examination must show proof of three courses prior to the state exam. Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice, and one other course from a designated list will be required.
Who Must Obtain a Real Estate License?
A California Real Estate License is required of individuals who are to be employed as salespersons under the control and supervision of a licensed broker. A license may be obtained by a person who does not immediately intend to be employed by a broker. However, in this instance, no real estate activity may be performed. The license authorizes real estate activity only if the salesperson is in the employ of a licensed broker. It does not authorize the salesperson to act as an independent agent.
Minimum Requirements to Apply for the Salesperson Exam
Age: No restrictions. (However, to apply for a license, you must be 18 years of age or older.)
Residence: Each applicant must qualify in the appropriate written examination in California and meet all other requirements. Residency in the state is not a requirement to become licensed.
Honesty: License applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime which is either a felony or involves moral turpitude may result in the denial of a license. The failure to reveal a criminal conviction on an original license application may also result in the denial of a license.
Experience: None required.
Legal Presence In United States: None Required as of January 1, 2016
Applicants will still be required to provide a social security number or an individual taxpayer identification number for licensure.
License Fees: There is a $60 test fee required when you apply for the state examination. The license fee is $245.
Fingerprints: One set of classifiable electronic fingerprints and a fingerprint processing fee are required from every license applicant unless:
Applicant is currently licensed by the California Department of Real Estate (DRE) or Applicant was licensed by DRE during the past two years. Original license applicants who reside in California will pay a $49 fingerprint processing fee directly to the live scan fingerprint service provider. Original license applicants who reside out of state should submit the $49 fingerprint processing fee with their application and license fee.