Mortgage Loan Originator License – 8-Hour Continuing Education
NMLS 8-Hour Continuing Education for Mortgage Loan Originators
Our California 2023 online 8-Hour SAFE Comprehensive continuing education course is designed to help busy mortgage loan originators meet their required SAFE Continuing Education Requirements in a convenient and engaging format.
Incl. $12 NMLS banking fee
Successive Year Compliant
Since we write a new course every year, you can take this course even if you renewed with us last year.
Approved by NMLS
California Continuing Education Requirements – Your 8-hour course must include 1 hour of CA Defined Electives. The Chamberlin 8-Hour course satisfies this requirement.
As your NMLS approved course sponsor, we will transmit your completion record to the NMLS on your behalf.
This course must be completed by 4:00 PM, Friday, Dec. 15th in order for us to report your credit to the NMLS on time.
The Chamberlin School will be closed Dec. 25th through Dec. 29th.
The following smart deadlines have been published by NMLS:
CE reported to NMLS by Friday, Dec. 8th
At RISK TO MISS RENEWAL
CE reported to NMLS by Friday, Dec. 15th
GUARANTEED TO MISS RENEWAL
Reported to NMLS on Friday Dec. 29th
How To Renew & Requirements
MLOs seeking to maintain their California MLO license or DRE “license endorsement” must complete 8 hours of continuing education annually.
Each individual mortgage loan originator (MLO) must renew their license in NMLS between November 1st and December 31st of each year.
Individuals can complete the renewal process themselves, or their company can complete the renewal process on their behalf.
Individuals are responsible for submitting and paying for their renewal request when they have un-sponsored licenses or when their company has instructed them to do so. Individuals should check with their sponsoring company to determine who will facilitate the renewal process.
If a licensee fails to complete the renewal process for a license during the renewal period or by the submission date required by their regulator, the licensee may complete the renewal process through NMLS during a reinstatement period. Licensees may be required to pay a late fee to reinstate their licenses during this time. Regulators may provide different time frames for reinstatement, or may prohibit reinstatement altogether.
If an individual fails to request renewal or reinstatement of a license within a state agency’s deadline, the regulator may choose to terminate the license.
For NMLS System Questions
Call the NMLS Call Center at (855) 665-7123, 9:00 a.m. to 9 p.m. EST.
For Department of Business Oversight specific questions call the Toll-free (866) 275-2677 or (916) 327-7585.
Frequently Asked Questions
Get answers to common questions about the Mortgage Loan Originator License course.
Yes, our 8-Hour MLO continuing education course is NMLS approved.
No, we only offer the 8-hour MLO continuing education course.
Yes. We currently offer an online, self-paced course that covers SAFE Continuing Education Requirements for California only. It is approved by the NMLS for 8 hours of SAFE Comprehensive Continuing Education. See course details.
No. It is only approved by the NMLS for 8 hours of SAFE Comprehensive Continuing Education.